Graduation 2015

May 29, 2015

Congratulations to all graduates in the Faculty of Dentistry

UBC Dentistry is proud of its 47th graduating class and salutes the hard work and dedication of each of its members in all programs.

Doctor of Philosophy in Craniofacial Science

Dr. Tarinee Lubpairee
Oral Squamous Cell Carcinoma Risk Determinants of the Longitudinal Framework
Supervisors: Drs. Catherine Poh and Lewei Zhang

Doctor of Philosophy in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Periodontics

Dr. Mazen Alotaibi
SMAD2 Overexpression and the Progression of Periodontal Disease  
Supervisor: Dr. Charles Shuler

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Endodontics

Dr. Abdulmohsen Alfadley
Influence of Cyclic Torsional Loading on the Fatigue Resistance of K3XF Instruments
Supervisor: Dr. Ya Shen

Dr. Christine Berthold
Restoration of Endodontically Treated Immature Teeth – Influence of Post Fit on Bonding Properties of Conventionally and Adhesively Luted Fiber-Reinforced Composite Posts
Supervisor: Dr. Markus Haapasalo

Dr. Rene Buttar
Analgesic and Antibiotic Prescribing Decisions of British Columbian Dentists and Endodontists
Supervisor: Dr. Jeffrey Coil

Dr. Frédéric Duke
Low-Cycle Cyclic Fatigue Properties of Novel NiTi Rotary Endodontic Instruments in the Single- and Double-Curvatures
Supervisor: Dr. Markus Haapasalo

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Orthodontics

Dr. Deepak Arora
Effect of NTP on Shear Bond Strength of Orthodontic Brackets
Supervisor: Dr. Edwin Yen

Dr. Kevin Lee
Prevalence Study of Dental Malocclusion in Children with Obstructive Sleep Apnea
Supervisor: Dr. Fernanda Almeida

Dr. Megan McFadden
Analysis of Early Fetal Facial Growth and Jaw Relationships
Supervisor: Dr. Virginia Diewert

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Pediatric Dentistry

Dr. Jennifer Park
An Analysis of Dental Emergency Cases Managed at BC Children’s Hospital
Supervisor: Dr. Karen Campbell

Dr. Shan Sun
Professional Uncertainty in Providing Dental Care for Special Needs Children Among General Dentists in B.C.
Supervisor: Dr. Kavita Mathu-Muju

Dr. Andrew Wong
Lifelong Tooth Replacement Patterns and the Effect of LiCl in the Leopard Gecko
Supervisor: Dr. Joy Richman

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Periodontics

Dr. Sébastien Dostie
Chemotherapeutic Decontamination of Dental Implants Colonized by Multispecies Oral Biofilm
Supervisor: Dr. Hannu Larjava

Dr. Mehdi Noroozi
Self-Reported Allergy to Penicillin Impact on Dental Implant Therapy Outcome: A Clinical Retrospective Study
Supervisor: Dr. Hannu Larjava

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Prosthodontics

Dr. Richard Kratz
Panoramic Radiographs Prior to Complete Denture Fabrication: A Retrospective Study of Clinical Significance and Quality Assurance
Supervisor: Dr. Joanne Walton

Dr. Samer Mesmar
Comparison of Adherence of Self-Cured Adhesive Resin Cements to Lithium Disilicate Ceramics and Indirect Resin Composites Using Fracture Mechanics
Supervisor: Dr. Dorin Ruse

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science

Mr. Syed Habeeb Ahmad
The Estimated Cost of Non-Traumatic Dental Visits in Emergency Rooms in British Columbia
Supervisor: Dr. Mario Brondani

Mr. Abdullah Almegbel
Effects of SMAD2 overexpression on the fate of the MEE cells during palatal fusion in the TgF B3 null mutant mice
Supervisor: Dr. Charles Shuler

Ms. Fariba Kianoush
The Effects of Different Surface Topographies on RAW264.7 Macrophage Polarization
Supervisor: Dr. Donald Brunette

Ms. Hai-Sle Moon
Novel Grooved Substrata Stimulate Macrophage Fusion, CCL2 and MMP-9 Secretion
Supervisor: Dr. Donald Brunette

Ms. Michelle Tra
Novel Monoamine Oxidase B Inhibitors Downregulate Lipopolysaccharide-Induced Endothelial and Epithelial Pro-Infammatory Cytokines
Supervisor: Dr. Edward Putnins

Ms. Shannon Waldron
Teaching and Learning Perspectives of Clinical Instructors within a Canadian Dental Hygiene Program
Supervisor: Dr. HsingChi von Bergmann

Ms. Maggie Wen
Are Your Surgical Loupes Working For You? An Exploratory Study
Supervisor: Dr. Lance Rucker

Oral Medicine and Oral Pathology Residency Program

Dr. Maryam Taleghani

Doctor of Dental Medicine

Dr. Reza Ahmadi
Dr. Vikhar Ahmed
Dr. Noa Albanese
Dr. Mudhar Al-bayati
Dr. Bradley Asay
Dr. Peter Li Feng Cao
Dr. Joyce Chan
Dr. Ekta Cheba
Dr. Bruce Chou
Dr. Christopher Dare
Dr. Navreet Dhaliwal
Dr. Pavel Duhra
Dr. Bardia Ghassemi
Dr. Rabia Gill
Dr. Anastasia Gorobtsova
Dr. Simrat Grewal
Dr. Carmen Hansford
Dr. Benjamin Jinn
Dr. Rosa (Minhee) Kim
Dr. Amanda Lacerda
Dr. Julia Lam
Dr. Paul (Chong Hyun) Lee
Dr. Chris Lee
Dr. Kyla Leung
Dr. Francis Lim
Dr. Leith Maal-Bared
Dr. Michael Mah
Dr. Jamie Marshall
Dr. Rosemary McCrodan
Dr. Anna Molavi
Dr. Maryla Mollania Jelodar
Dr. Kareem Nada
Dr. Lisa (Hye In) Nam
Dr. Mohammed Nassrullah
Dr. Dennis Nguyen
Dr. Allison Nicholls
Dr. Ajand Nobahari
Dr. Julianne Proniuk
Dr. Sarah Reynhoudt
Dr. Adam Samji
Dr. Jordan Sanders
Dr. Shamsher Sandlas
Dr. Jassica Sarai
Dr. Gagandeep Saran
Dr. Laura Schmidt
Dr. Nancy Schmidt
Dr. T. Tyler Sheasby
Dr. Kevin (Sung Yuan) Shen
Dr. Jocelyn Shih
Dr. Sarang Toosi
Dr. Soroosh Torabian
Dr. Michael Tsai
Dr. Omar Wisam
Dr. Ruby (Sz Huei) Wu
Dr. Zachary Zeiler

Bachelor of Dental Science (Dental Hygiene)

Lorena Austin
Roxana Ayala
Alexandria Bartel
Marthe Benoit
Navida Bhatnagar
Aarti Brar
Mary-Ellen Breckenridge
Mara Burrows
Hyun E Cha
Katherine Chandler
Dennis Chen
Maria Chiru
Leslie Erroa Alvarado
Brittany Fandrick
Sharan Flora
Giulia Galloro
Kristina Gielen
Christine Green
Nevin Haynes
Susan Heikkila
Tina Hsi
Angel Hu
Jeremy Huynh
Donna Kalossikos
Anne (Dong Hun) Kim
Elizabeth Koh
Dawn Larmon
Farrah Lee
Yaling Li
Stephanie Mauro
Melissa Mollberg
Amanda (So Young) Park
Kelly Roberts
Bethan Rogac
Nina Sang
Jennifer Scott
Gordon Sien
Miriam Smith
David Smith
Tammi Sowerby
Jessica Stach
Deanna Stubbs
Heather Thompson
Susan Zambito
Jean Zhai
Yan Zhou

Congratulations UBC Dentistry Graduates!