Graduation 2018

May 31, 2018

Congratulations to all graduates in the Faculty of Dentistry

UBC Dentistry is proud of its 50th graduating class and salutes the hard work and dedication of each of its members in all programs.

Doctor of Philosophy in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Orthodontics

Dr. Negar Salimi
Fistula in Cleft Lip and Palate Patients
Supervisor: Jolanta Aleksejuniene

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Endodontics

Dr. Fahda Algahtani
Cyclic Fatigue of ProTaper Gold in Single and Double Curvature Model
Supervisor: Ya Shen

Dr. Deborah Szabo
Removal of Calcifications from Distal Canals of Mandibular Molars with the GentleWave System
Supervisor: Dr. Markus Haapasalo

Dr. Zhejun Wang
Dynamic Dissolution and Inhibition of Biofilm Development by Endodontic Disinfecting Agents
Supervisor: Dr. Markus Haapasalo

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Orthodontics

Dr. Suliman Alsaeed
Outcomes of Orthodontic Treatment Performed by Individual Orthodontists versus Two Orthodontists Collaborating on Treatment
Supervisor: Dr. David Kennedy

Dr. Kathleen Martin
Tracing the Cellular Origins of Mesenchymal Derivatives in Craniofacial Development
Supervisor: Dr. T. Michael Underhill

Dr. Robert Mintenko
Dental Changes Following Serial Extraction of Mandibular Second Premolars
Supervisor: Dr. David Kennedy

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Pediatric Dentistry

Dr. Alwaleed Abushanan
Primary Health Care Professional’s Knowledge, Attitude and Practices Towards Early Childhood Caries and Infant Oral Health
Supervisor: Dr. Mario Brondani

Dr. Don He
Craniofacial Morphology and the Use of Neonatal Non-invasive Ventilation Therapy: a Pilot Study
Supervisor: Dr. Ben Pliska

Dr. Charis Luk
Effect of an Audiovisual Preoperative Intervention in Reducing Parental Anxiety Prior to a Child’s Sedation Appointment
Supervisor: Dr. Kavita Mathu-Muju

Dr. Randa Soussou
Waiting Room Time: An Opportunity for Caregiver Oral Health Education
Supervisor: Dr. Jolanta Aleksejuniene

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Periodontics

Dr. Yasmine Alawaji
Optimization of CBCT Image Quality in Implant Dentistry
Supervisor: Dr. Nancy Ford

Dr. Rashi Chaturvedi
The Efficacy of Cyanoacrylate (PeriAcryl®90 HV) in Its Adhesive Post-Operative Properties on Periodontal Wound Healing and Patient Discomfort after Non-Surgical Periodontal Treatment: A Pilot Randomized Clinical
Supervisor: Penny Hatzimanolakis

Dr. Kyla Leung
Decontamination of Rough Implant Surfaces In Vitro Using Glycine Powder Air Polishing
Supervisor: Dr.
Hannu Larjava

Dr. Vincent Senini
Chronic Periodontitis Promotes Thrombosis via a Tlr4- and Cdc42-Dependent Mechanism
Supervisor: Dr. Hugh Kim

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science / Diploma in Prosthodontics

Dr. Saraa Abdulateef
In-vivo Comparison Between Digital and Convential Inter-occlusal Records
Supervisor: Dr. Chris Wyatt

Dr. Hayam Alfallaj
Social and Psychological Outcomes and There Stability of Edentulous Patients with Implant Overdenture
Supervisor: Dr. Ross Bryant

Dr. Sahr Al-Tuwaijri
Multiple Implants Impression Accuracy of Edentulous Jaw: Digital and Conventional Implant Impression Comparative Study
Supervisor: Dr. Caroline Nguyen

Dr. Robert Lesniak
Experimental 4-Step Braided Glass Fiber Reinforced Composite for Dental CAD/CAM Applications
Supervisor: Dr. Ricardo Carvalho

Master of Science in Craniofacial Science

Meeta Bhatt
Prescriptive Pattern and Clinical Decision Making in Complicated Endodontic Cases Using Cone-Beam Computed Tomography
Supervisor: Dr. David MacDonald

Xian Jun (David) Lu
Human Papillomavirus and Oropharyngeal Cancer in British Columbia
Supervisor: Dr. Catherine Poh

Xiaojiao (Stacy) Wang
Downregulation of Lipopolysaccharide-Induced Intestinal Epithelial Cell Chemokine Secretion by a Novel MAO B Inhibitor
Supervisor: Dr. Ed Putnins

General Practice Residency Program

Dr. Shamsher Sandlas

Dr. Emily Thong

Doctor of Dental Medicine

Dr. Michael Allan
Dr. Stephanie Allan
Dr. Anahit Arzumanyan
Dr. Amir Asghari
Dr. Sarah Berkey
Dr. Jasvinder Chahal
Dr. Jonathan Chan
Dr. Kerri-Lyn Chong
Dr. Andrew Dawn
Dr. Amarjot Dev
Dr. Navraj Dhanowa
Dr. Tanner Dobson
Dr. Christine Hao
Dr. Luke Hawkins
Dr. Inhye Heo
Dr. Natalie Hirayama
Dr. Thomas Hoos
Dr. Darren Huang
Dr. Arathi Hungund
Dr. Sarah Hutchinson Wruck
Dr. Alexander Hyatt
Dr. Jace James
Dr. Junghoo Kim
Dr. Sara Kim
Dr. Viktoria Kirsten
Dr. Leo Lee
Dr. Teresa Lee
Dr. Zachary Lim
Dr. Marcus Lo
Dr. Cecilia Loewen
Dr. Herbert Lui
Dr. Emma Marler
Dr. Kaitlin Olson
Dr. Jason Park
Dr. Kimberly Paterson
Dr. Matthew Pavlic
Dr. Alexandru Radu
Dr. Eric Rocca
Dr. Sheena Sachdeva
Dr. Pavit Sadana
Dr. Navraj Sandhu
Dr. Yadwinder Sarao
Dr. Sara Sassani
Dr. Steven Schadinger
Dr. Karim Seddik
Dr. Kiarash Shabehpour
Dr. Sue Shang
Dr. Satsangat Singh
Dr. Zeeshan Somji
Dr. Amy von der Gonna
Dr. Michelle Wilczek-Piekarska
Dr. Stella Xu
Dr. Geoffrey Young
Dr. Moorea Zava

Bachelor of Dental Science (Dental Hygiene)

Alison Ashworth
Crystal Au
Heather Bates
Jasvir Bouhgan
Allison Brush
Sarah Bullock
Hung-Lin (Howard) Chang
Cynthia Chiu
Jessie Cho
Iris Chu
Janel Cooper
Lin Lin (Eva) Deng
Amrit K. Dhindsa
Nouran El Bulkiny
Jennifer Ellenwood (Lane)
Cheryl Ennis
Shannon Fitz
Amarjit Ghatore
Kirsten Green
Kevin (Hung-Lin) Ho
Josianne Jonas
Orchid Kamron
Teresa La Chimea
Yolanda Lan
Winnie Law
Ophelia Lin
Yanlu Liu
Coreen Martin
Michelle O’Neill
Nicole Pasin
Rebecca Piccolo
Selena Rai
Sarah Rippe
Kayley Sewak
Cheuk Hei (Cheryl) Shum
Manjinder Sihota
Melissa Springenatic
Tamara Steele
Monica Ta
Jackie Tong
Kaila Tuuri

Congratulations UBC Dentistry Graduates!