CDSBC Honours UBC Alumni and Faculty

March 17, 2011

The College of Dental Surgeons of British Columbia (CDSBC) honoured individuals, many of whom are UBC alumni or faculty, for their contributions to dentistry and the organization at its annual awards ceremony on March 10 in Vancouver.

The highest award, the Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes outstanding and broad contributions to the dental profession in BC and to CDSBC over time, was presented to alumni Susan Chow DMD 1972 and Ash Varma DMD 1983, and Dr. Michael MacEntee, Professor of Prosthodontics & Dental Geriatrics.

Of six Awards of Merit, which recognize significant contributions, beyond basic volunteer participation, that have had an impact on the practice or the profession of dentistry through involvement with CDSBC, two were presented to UBC individuals: alumnus Bob McDougall DMD 1991 and past UBC faculty member Dr. Mel Sawyer (now an associate dean at the University of Manitoba).

The College of Dental Surgeons of British Columbia regulates dentists and certified dental assistants in the public interest.