UBC Vancouver Summer Program 2017 at the Faculty of Dentistry


Thirty-one university students from China, Saudi Arabia and Taiwan (see below for university names) arrived in Vancouver in mid July to participate in a four-week educational program in the UBC Faculty of Dentistry. This was the fourth time Dentistry offered courses in UBC’s Vancouver Summer Program, an initiative of the Office of the Provost and Vice President Academic.

While most of the international students are pursuing dentistry degrees at their home universities, several in the cohort were undertaking degrees in medicine, science and engineering.

The educational program offered by UBC Dentistry consisted of a multidisciplinary course in dental caries and oral cancer. Read the course descriptions here >>

All students successfully completed the program.

Course instruction was provided by Drs. Jolanta Aleksejuniene, Bertrand Chan, Jordan Cheng, Nirpjit Dosanjh, Markus Haapasalo, Denise Laronde, David MacDonald, Adriana Manso, Kavita Mathu-Maju, Samson Ng, Caroline Nguyen, Komkham Pattanaporn, Catherine Poh, Clive Roberts, Charles Shuler, Eli Whitney, Chris Wyatt, Lewei Zhang, and Ms. Leigha Rock, a Craniofacial Science PhD candidate.

The Vancouver Summer Programs in Dentistry was coordinated by Dr. Ravindra Shah, Director of International Relations.

During their stay, the students attended an intercultural communications workshop, visited the Museum of Anthropology, and attended a graduate education fair and a sports festival at UBC. They also participated in demonstrations at the Centre for High-Throughput Phenogenomics.

Participants in the UBC Vancouver Summer Program at the Faculty of Dentistry, August 9, 2017.

Photo Gallery

View the photo gallery of students receiving their certificates from Dr. Ravindra Shah, Director of International Relations.

Participating Universities

Students from the following 13 universities participated in the Faculty of Dentistry’s educational program in UBC’s Vancouver Summer Program 2017.

China: Central South University, China Medical University, East China University of Science and Technology, Shandong University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine, Southern Medical University, Southern University of Science and Technology, Sun Yat-sen University, WenZhou Medical University, Wuhan University, and Zhejiang University.

Saudi Arabia: King Faisal University.

Taiwan: Kaohsiung Medical University.